Crazy Cousins

Standard

Today is National Cousin day. I’m not going to lie—this is news to me but I love my family so why not blog about it! Going to my grandmother’s house as a child I was always the baby girl (until my beautiful sister was born). My brother is 9 years older than me and all of my cousins are older than him. Unlike your typical 6 year old little girl in dresses, I was a tomboy (or a punching bag depending on the day). My uncle Ray (their dad) called me Charlie. I never quite understood it but maybe it was because I was like the son he never had—even though I’m a girl! We would go to my grandmother’s house and have the BEST fried chicken EVER! While she would cook we would socialize. Unlike my brother (who was annoyed with his tattle telling little sister) my cousins would actually play with me. They taught me almost everything there is to know about sports. Sometimes my boyfriend  looks at me in confusion by the fact that I still know the starting line up and stats of the 1995 Carolina Tarheels. (Duke fans–ugh) One of my favorite things was playing ball in my grandmother’s yard in the little peaceful lake town in North Carolina. We would play football in the yard and they used to kick my butt. Looking back I’m starting to think maybe they wanted me to play so they could actually win. HA. Now when we all get together they are all old (not really just I have to pick on them) have back, knee, and other types of excuses not to get beat up by their little lady cousin. It is crazy looking at now and then and how much things have changed. One thing that has not changed is how much fun we have together no matter what we are doing. They all have completely different personalities but no matter we always have an amazing time together. They are like my big brothers and I love them to death. I am forever grateful for their unconditional love. I LOVE YOU MIKE, JOHN, AND TONY!!!

About avynkaren

Hello world! Welcome to my blog! My name is Avyn and I have created this blog to inspire others. Writing is therapeutic and I am using this blog as my therapy. I yearn to be a famous writer one day, not necessarily a reporter or an author, just simply be known as a writer. I enjoy life and everyone in it. Some call me crazy but hey, you have one life to live have fun! Enjoy my blog!!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

