Working Woman Workout

Standard

So I’m not even going to lie…some days are definitely better than others. Today I am having one of those “I can’t win” Wednesdays. I woke up and my dog was not listening at all, I lost my favorite pair of sunglasses,  I got to work and had to redo some articles that I worked very hard on , and on top of all of that…I have been feeling a little queasy all day. Needless to say, today I am just not really feeling it. I want to go back to bed and try over.

For days like today I am excited my coworker introduced me to a boot camp class right up the street. I know what you are thinking…’what would this girl wanna go take a boot camp class if she’s having “one of those days” ‘? Well to be honest it helps me relieve stress. I’m already trying to shape up so why not try something like this? When I did my internship at a gym I loved boot camp but I was usually working when they offered it. Now I am able to go  Monday and Wednesday after work and on Saturday morning. It is an awesome way to switch up my normal  daily jogs with my puppy. Boot camp is the perfect class for someone who needs a little extra motivation.  At first it is certainly a challenge but once you go a few times you not only feel better but you can also see how much more in shape you have gotten. If you are going to try a fitness class, it is crucial to remember that you HAVE to go every day it is offered to get maximum results.Fitness is something people are lacking in their daily lives. I know we can all have hectic schedules but I’m pretty sure you have an extra 30 mins-an hour to spare to improve your health.

These 4 things I have found are VERY important when working out:
1.  Drink Water- Even if you aren’t thristy make sure you are constantly keeping yourself hydrated.

2. Don’t Over Do It- Push yourself but do not do more than your body is capable of.

3. Keep Breathing- Some people forget to breathe when working out, this can raise your blood pressure severely. Ideally- breath in your nose and out of your mouth.

4. Stretch-  Stretching helps reduce soreness especially when you are starting something new.

Can’t make it to the gym? Try this routine for beginners I found from http://evilcyber.com in your own home:

Body Part Exercise Comment
Chest / Triceps 3 sets of push-ups, as many as you can do, with 60 seconds rest between sets The exercise is explained in this video, which also contains pointers on what to do when you can’t do a full push-up yet.
Back / Biceps 3 sets of pull-ups, as many as you can do, with 60 seconds rest between sets If you don’t have a pull-up bar, this article has very many suggestions for possible substitutes.
If you can’t do a full pull-up yet, this video will guide you from negative chin-ups to your first full pull-up and beyond.
Legs Three sets of lunges, as many as you can do, with 60 seconds rest between sets. ExRx has a good explanation of the exercise right here. Start with no weight to learn the movement and then gradually add resistance, while making sure you keep good form.
When you need additional resistance, you can use dumbbells or, if you don’t have any, milk gallons filled with water.
Legs (optional) Three sets of hamstring curls, 6 – 12 repetitions, with 60 seconds rest between sets If you feel your hamstrings don’t get enough work from doing lunges, you may add hamstring curls.They are explained in this video.
Abs Three sets of crunches, 6-12 repetitions, with 60 seconds rest between sets The exercise is explained right here. Note that the hands do not pull on the head; fixate a spot right above you when you do the movement.
About avynkaren

Hello world! Welcome to my blog! My name is Avyn and I have created this blog to inspire others. Writing is therapeutic and I am using this blog as my therapy. I yearn to be a famous writer one day, not necessarily a reporter or an author, just simply be known as a writer. I enjoy life and everyone in it. Some call me crazy but hey, you have one life to live have fun! Enjoy my blog!!

Leave a Reply

