Energize and Feel Alive

Standard

Ever feel like you are running on nothing? Whether you are the college student cramming for an exam, the busy working adult, or first time parent, sometimes it seems like nothing will give us the boost of energy we are dying for. Well ditch the daily Red Bull and coffee caffeine fixes. These 8 healthy energy boosts make it easy for anyone to add a little pep in their step.

1.  Magnesium- The daily recommendation for a woman is 300mg and a man is 350mg. Some studies suggest the reason we feel like we lack energy is due to the amount of magnesium in our diet. Nutritionist, Samantha Heller’s suggestions for increasing the amount of magnesium in your daily diet include adding a handful of almonds, hazelnuts or cashews each day as well as increasing the amount of fish and whole grain consumed.

2. Walk- Walking increases energy. I can vouch for that. I walk my dog a mile each morning before work. I have honestly noticed that when I skip a day walking I feel much more sleepy through out the day as opposed to the days I walk.

3 .Nap- Taking a power nap between 30-90 minutes can work wonders when you feel drained. Sometimes our brains can get overloaded with information and studies have proven that power naps can help retain information we have learned throughout the day.

4. Eat- Never skip meals especially not breakfast. When you skip meals, it actually results in a higher feeling of fatigue. Studies prove that people who eat breakfast have more energy and  in a better mood throughout the day.

5. Don’t Stress- I know it’s easier said than done, but stress can actually rob us of the energy we need during the day. “Stress is the result of anxiety and anxiety uses up a whole lot of our energy,” says sports psychologist Paul Baard. Use the negative energy you are using about things you can’t control in doing activities that make you happy. When I get stressed I like to play my Wii or walk to get my mind off of stressful things.

6. Water- Water seems to be the answer for everything which comes as no surprise that it could also boost your energy. When we are dehydrated, even just a tiny bit, we feel tired. Drinking water can be a simple solution for an energy boost especially after a good work out.

7.  Whole Grains- Eating whole grains keeping your energy level balanced and well maintained.
8. Snack- Power up with a snack. This does not mean stuff your face with chips and candy when you are bored at work.  Eating a small snack in between meals such as fruit or nuts, will both reboost your energy as well as your metabolism.

Blue Berry Smoothie Recipe

2 cups fresh or slightly thawed frozen blueberries
1 cup low fat vanilla yogurt
6 ounces milk
12 ounces pineapple juice
3 tablespoons honey
12 to 16 ice cubes

Place all ingredients, except the ice cubes, into container of electric blender and blend on high until smooth. With blender running, add 2 to 3 ice cubes at a time through the center opening in the lid until all ice cubes have been added. Blend until smooth.

Serve immediately. This smoothie recipe makes 4 servings.

289 Calories, 37g Carbs, 1.9g Fat, 2.5g Protein


About avynkaren

Hello world! Welcome to my blog! My name is Avyn and I have created this blog to inspire others. Writing is therapeutic and I am using this blog as my therapy. I yearn to be a famous writer one day, not necessarily a reporter or an author, just simply be known as a writer. I enjoy life and everyone in it. Some call me crazy but hey, you have one life to live have fun! Enjoy my blog!!

Leave a Reply

